short thoughts

1)There is only one reality. Really. It may be very complex, or hard to understand, or not yet fully understood so that there’s competing and incomplete ideas about it. But really, in the end, there is only one version of it. There’s no such thing as “this is truth for me”. reality just does not work that way. And me saying so does not make me a fascist or a fundamentalist or a bigot. If you’re wrong; learn something from it, don’t go running to mommy because you think I’m being mean to you :-/

2)I’ve finally figured out why, despite probably not having synesthesia, numbers have colors for me: d’oh!. Except that my 4s and 7’s are greenish, not pink/purple. hmm….

3)I watched “Invention of Lying” the other day. funny idea, but it bugged me to no end that for some reason the movie assumes that being always honest makes people shallow and coldhearted and calculating. If you can’t lie, even by omission, then you can’t lie to yourself either, so “social conventions” wouldn’t work, because people would honestly say what bull it all is. And therefore she would have never picked the snooty hot guy over the nice dorky one. She would have told him “you’re hot and I want your babies. But you’re boring and I don’t like you. So, let’s make some babies, and then get lost, please.” That completely ruined what could have been a good movie otherwise.

4)there was something else I was gonna write, but I forgot what. I distinctly remember there being four things I was gonna write about. Crap. Note to self: make more notes to self on paper.

6 comments on “short thoughts

  1. David Marjanović says:

    I’ve finally figured out why, despite probably not having synesthesia, numbers have colors for me: d’oh!.

    Oh, that makes a lot of sense. I’ll need to ask several people in my family for why they have such associations. :-)

    there was something else I was gonna write, but I forgot what. I distinctly remember there being four things I was gonna write about. Crap.

    All too familiar…

    Note to self: make more notes to self on paper.

    On my cluttered desk that simply wouldn’t work.

  2. Rechelle says:

    I got a kick out of ‘Invention of Lying’ but you’re right it seemed like not being able to lie just made all the character extremely cold. loved how the film turned religion on it’s end. It does really make you wonder how the whole god thing got started. If there was a human that just wanted to make someone feel better and then it got blown way the hell out of proportion.

    I write notes on my hands.

  3. Jadehawk says:

    Rechelle, yeah, I’d love to know how religion started out, too. From what I know, “spirituality” of a sort existed even in Neanderthals: they buried their dead, so maybe they already believed in an afterlife, maybe even exactly because dying is a really scary idea once you figure out that YOU will die someday. And then the stories just got fancier and fancier, and it went downhill from there.

    Oh, and I remembered what the 4th thing was I was gonna write about. I saw a CD by Susan Boyle at the store today, and it had a shiny, overproduced “As seen on YouTube” sticker on it. I thought that was funny (but apparently not funny enough to remember it, hehe)

  4. David Marjanović says:

    I’d love to know how religion started out, too

    I think it’s most likely it started from our innate propensities to see agency anywhere and to see patterns where there aren’t any. When the rain goes on for too long, chimpanzees threaten it…

    Then it went on to answer questions like “why does shit (including death) happen”, “why does shit happen to me”, “why does shit happen to good people”, and “how did shit get started in the first place”…

    Sometime later, someone figured out how to use it to gain power and wealth. But that need not have been early.

    it had a shiny, overproduced “As seen on YouTube” sticker on it

    ROTFLMAO!

    That seems so inverted to me. And in 5 years this attitude of mine will seem hopelessly old-fashioned, clueless, backwards to me, like how Romy Schneider’s mother lamented that Romy had “unfortunately not become a real actor – only a movie actor”. :-)

  5. David Marjanović says:

    (“Leider ist sie keine richtige Schauspielerin geworden – nur Filmschauspielerin.”)

  6. Katrina says:

    We have similar blocks at our house. Like this: http://satorismiles.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/0906-mus-blocks-002.jpg

    I suspect my kids’ 4s will be yellow. ;-)

Leave a comment