Whining about myself

List of blog-posts which I really wish I’d finally write which are either languishing in unfinished form or don’t exist other than as vague ideas:

-A discussion of what “choice” means in our consumerist culture, and how it’s not really much choice at all.
-A discussion of assorted claims from the right (and especially libertarians) about racism in left-wing movements (specifically, in environmentalism)
-A discussion of the various kinds of feminism (especially choice feminism vs. radical feminism) in the context of the nonexistence of contracausal free will
-A discussion/dissection of my Environmental Sociology class
-A review of “Yes Means Yes”
-A discussion of the difference between a state and its citizens, and the fuckedupedness of the conflation of the two
-A discussion of the New Capitalist Class and the lack of “competition” on that level of the market
-An argument for the difference-of-kind between property rights and bodily autonomy

Whenever I sit down to write about any of these, all the relevant thoughts disappear out of my head. I’m not amused.

5 comments on “Whining about myself

  1. David Marjanović says:

    That must be similar to how Darren Naish feels. He does manage to begin writing dozens (hundreds?) of blog posts, and then they sit unfinished on his hdd for weeks to years. :-)

    Maybe discuss one of these topics with your boyfriend and then use that discussion as a starting point? Surely the two of you can come up with enough “relevant thoughts” for a blog post?

  2. Two points I would make here:

    1. You can only do so much to benefit others.

    2. There may be a fuck of a lot of time around, but you have to budget the expenditure of your personal ration.

  3. andrewD says:

    Jadehawk,
    I would be very interested in:-
    A discussion/dissection of my Environmental Sociology class

    I am currently reading a critical appraisal of Murry Bookchin and would be interested in your thoughts (and those of SC as well) on Bookchin

    Andrew

  4. Jadehawk says:

    I am currently reading a critical appraisal of Murry Bookchin and would be interested in your thoughts (and those of SC as well) on Bookchin

    short version: social ecology = win
    long version will have to wait for me to write that article about my ES class. I do have his “Social Ecology and Communalism” on my evergrowing reading list, but as with everything else, I’ve no idea when I’ll get around to it.

  5. astrostevo says:

    I know the feeling. I’m procrastinating as I type on similar sort of things. Oh &housework. Yuk. Sigh.

    Hope some of these do end up getting written sometime. Nice blog here – cheers.

Leave a Reply

