new layout

as much as I liked the previous layout, apparently it was hard to read for some people. I categorically refuse to go high-contrast, because that hurts my eyes (have to read pharyngula with the screen brightness set as low as possible), and I don’t feel like paying wordpress for access to the code, so this is the only other alternative that works for me.

does this work better? was the last one better? reader input sorely needed!

18 comments on “new layout

  1. cicely says:

    This one works better for me.

  2. Saw your blog linked in the Endless Thread and thought I’d take a look.

    Yeah, this works pretty well. I didn’t get a chance to see what it was like before the new layout, though.

  3. Walton says:

    FWIW, I didn’t find the old format particularly hard to read. But this one is definitely prettier. :-)

  4. DeviantOne says:

    I like it :)

  5. Very nice, easy on the eyes.

  6. Kausik Datta says:

    I loved the color of the old format, but if it works for everyone, fine with me.

  7. reeddlh says:

    Much better for me. This one has a little of the Kindle look to it, which was designed to be easy to read for everybody.

  8. maureen brian says:

    Yes, this is much better – much easier to read. Thanks.

  9. David Marjanović says:

    Argh. I liked the old one much better. But I can live with this one…

    I always keep the brightness of LCD screens at the minimum (unless I’m looking at a particularly dark photo or something). Everything above that hurts my eyes.

    …Even though I hardly ever need sunglasses in meatspace. Exceptions are extremely bright environments (like open spaces in concrete deserts) in midsummer, and driving towards the sun.

  10. David Marjanović says:

    But I can live with this one…

    That’s a lot more difficult than I thought. I suddenly find myself unable to highlight text, so I have to type any quotes myself.

    Or is that the “trick” part of “trick or treat”? :-þ

  11. David Marjanović says:

    Correction: the posts can still be highlighted, copied & pasted without problem. It’s only impossible for the comments. That’s even more baffling. ~:-|

  12. Jadehawk says:

    Correction: the posts can still be highlighted, copied & pasted without problem. It’s only impossible for the comments.

    not impossible for me. if this is really a problem on your end, i suggest switching to something that isn’t IE :-p

  13. Paul says:

    Looks fine to me, old one was fine despite a couple nitpicks I had.

    I don’t know what WordPress offers you, but can you not have a couple different looks, set by cookie or something? I mean, for the most part it’s all CSS, and most people aren’t as paranoid of cookies as I am…

    Then again, it seems like most people like this one. If people have special needs (well, with respect to brightness and contrast, anyway) they can set a user stylesheet to override your settings…

  14. David Marjanović says:

    not impossible for me. if this is really a problem on your end, i suggest switching to something that isn’t IE :-p

    I hate you. I hate the entire Mozilla Foundation. I hate Microsoft. I hate the HTML standards and MSHTML. I hate everyone! :-)

    Well, what I really hate is switching between browsers for different tasks, and I don’t feel like downloading a bunch of plugins for Firefox. I suppose, not having your boyfriend at my disposal, I’m lazier than thou. =8-)

  15. Paul says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen emo!David before. Who has been corrupting him?

  16. David Marjanović says:

    …Jadehawk… did you design the A with gnu horns? :-) :-) :-)

    :-}

  17. Jadehawk says:

    no. I stole it from aratina cage’s blog: all the cool people are doing this now ;-)

Leave a Reply

