I’m back

well, I’ve finally settled in and regained something like a productive routine; and good internet access. Which means I’ll also be writing my blog again. I promise at least one post a week, barring massive drama. This isn’t this week’s post, either :-p

7 comments on “I’m back

  1. Kausik Datta says:

    Welcome back. Oddly, I was kinda missing you! :D

  2. David Marjanović says:

    Welcome back. Oddly, I was kinda missing you! :D

    Laddies and gentlewomen, this is what understatement looks like.

    And don’t worry, I’m posting this at 3:47 am Central European summertime, but that’s just because I’ve finally arrived in my hotel in Pittsburgh. Six days of fossil goodness lie ahead, and then four of meatspace pharyngulite goodness!

  3. Jadehawk says:

    Six days of fossil goodness lie ahead, and then four of meatspace pharyngulite goodness!

    have fun :-)

  4. Paul says:

    Looking forward to it. I enjoy hearing what you have to say, but have basically sworn off Pharyngula; it’s far too much of a time sink, and I have poor impulse control when it comes to reading.

  5. David Marjanović says:

    have fun :-)

    So far it works out. I got to talk to a lot of fellow enthusiasts (professional ones and others) and grabbed a lot of free reprints that I might (at varying degrees of likelihood) need some day.

    I had my talk today, and, well, those people who want to ever remind themselves of it again have congratulated me. (The others haven’t sought my presence, I suppose.) I’m still sure I didn’t get the Romer Prize, though; some of the competition was quite impressive!

    I won’t be able to talk much about anything but my own stuff. It’s all embargoed till publication. :-(

    This includes the toothiest goodness (…toothy bestness?) ever. I think I can say it’s a beast with not one and not two, and not even three, but four blade-shaped, curved, serrated canines in a row; not a caniniform region like in Tyrannosaurus or Ceratosaurus where the tips of the teeth form a tall but smooth curve, but four teeth that are about twice as tall as all others. Reality pwnz0rs fiction all around the block every day of the week and twice on… yesterday was indeed Sunday. I’ll look up the abstract (tomorrow at the earliest); I bet it says what kind of animal it is — if so, I can talk about that.

    While I am at it, the “false sabercats” (Nimravidae) are even falser than most people used to think. I’ll look that abstract up, too.

    I […] have basically sworn off Pharyngula; it’s far too much of a time sink, and I have poor impulse control when it comes to reading.

    I’m addicted. :-) The reason why I won’t comment on Pharyngula today and will read only the title page is that I’m just too tired. Yesterday, I came home at midnight and had to get up again at six. (Yes, six in the morning.) It was similar the night before, so I have a lot of sleep to catch up to!

    Desire Jetlag is irrelevant. I am a machine!”
    — The Terminator in The Borg vs The Terminator.

  6. Paul says:

    I’m addicted. :-)

    I was. I mean, I never posted as much as some others, but I spent entirely too much time there and couldn’t help it. So I had to go cold turkey. Also had to cut out Dispatches for the same reason, and because going there usually ended up with me going back to Pharyngula.

  7. David Marjanović says:

    I agree that Pharyngula and Dispatches is too much.

    The congratulations continued today… and I saw a T-shirt with an especially cute kitten and a speech bubble that contains a cheeseburger. The kitten has full-length saber teeth. ^_^ Shortly before, at the silent benefit auction, I had found a book that said some species of the nimravid Eusmilus were the size of a house cat! What I said about reality and fiction. ^_^

    I won’t comment on Pharyngula today

    I did. But only to vote for Molly.

Leave a Reply

