Hooray for slobs

I’ve finally found the perfect excuse reason for being a lazy slob. It’s environmentally friendly (and cheap)! This is why (warning: not for germophobes!)

  • I clean the apartment twice a year, which means I’m using almost no cleaning supplies
  • I rarely do laundry, so that saves both on soap and on electricity
  • dishes only get done occasionally between uses
  • I don’t ever iron anything, so less energy again
  • I wear clothes even when severely damaged, i.e. i need to buy fewer of them and therefore don’t contribute to the energy and resource usage required to make them
  • I have never actually washed my car, so no soaps, no water and energy wastage
  • between the boyfriend and me, we’ve probably used one bar of soap in the last year
  • a bunch of other things, which on second thought are maybe a bit TMI :-p

unfortunately, I bet being a nightowl completely ruins all of that, since it results in eating food from the gas station and having the lights on all night. :-p

12 comments on “Hooray for slobs

  1. Rorschach says:

    since it results in eating food from the gas station and having the lights on all night. :-p

    How weird, Im just watching a report on CBS news about “food deserts” in the US, and how hard it is to get fresh food, and how McD or cans from the gas station are the main source of food in some areas !

  2. Jadehawk says:

    How weird, Im just watching a report on CBS news about “food deserts” in the US, and how hard it is to get fresh food, and how McD or cans from the gas station are the main source of food in some areas !

    yeah, it’s not that bad here, especially since the grocery store is open 24/7 (but it’s 20 minutes away on the bike). But when I get hungry in the middle of the night, I can’t walk anywhere other than the gas station, because everything else is closed.

    Oh, that and starbucks; I sometimes manage to eat “dinner” right after they open.

    I wish I knew how to quit that soulless evil “coffee”shop :-p

  3. cicely says:

    And just think of the immune system benefits! ;P

  4. David Marjanović says:

    Soap? I only use soap when I’ve got something on my hands that doesn’t go off with water alone. Like, handling car tires or repairing a bike. I certainly don’t get to half a bar of soap per year. =8-)

    I don’t ever iron anything

    I like you more and more every week :-)

    I wish I knew how to quit that soulless evil “coffee”shop :-p

    My sister would say “emigrate!” But then, she says that about 10 times a day anyway, so…

  5. David Marjanović says:

    Oh yeah. You do use compact fluorescent lights, don’t you? :-)

  6. Jadehawk says:

    And just think of the immune system benefits! ;P

    what doesn’t kill you…. ;-)

    Oh yeah. You do use compact fluorescent lights, don’t you? :-)

    yup

  7. David Marjanović says:

    I wish I knew how to quit that soulless evil “coffee”shop :-p

    Just to rub it in: yes, caffeine is a stimulant, but you adapt to it rather quickly, and then it has no more effect other than removing its own withdrawal symptoms.

    Which brings us back to the laziness/money-saving theme: as I drink tea just for the taste, it doesn’t need to be very strong, so (on the rare occasions I cook tea myself) I use every bag for two cups, three if it’s very strong (English).

  8. Kausik Datta says:

    I just saw your comment in the “local loon” thread in Pharyngula… Darn-tootin’-right, you are a slob! How could you have not watched Usual Suspects till now?
    [Shock][Surprise][Horror]

    Hee-hee!! :D

  9. Jadehawk says:

    I’m really not enough into stating at the boob tube, and I enjoy movies only in company, so I’ve been seriously behind on watching classic movies of all sorts. The only reason I’m now reasonably caught up is because the boyfriend is a movie-lover, and he couldn’t stand the fact that he was constantly getting blank stares from me when he was making movie references; so he made me watch a shitload of them.

  10. Caine says:

    Being a slob works for me. Neatfreaks freak me out a bit, possibly because I grew up with one. I’m perfectly happy being a slob.

  11. Pygmy Loris says:

    I love this. My (not so green) lifestyle suddenly seems a bit better since I don’t wash dishes that often, hardly ever buy new clothes, only wash clothes when they start to look dirty, don’t clean except for sweeping and the toilet (a dirty toilet drives me nuts!), don’t even own an iron or ironing board, only wash the car once a year (to get the salt out of the undercarriage after winter, that reminds me…), and I wear a pair of shoes until they are quite literally falling apart. :)

    Thanks for making my day a little brighter. Have a good time in Copenhagen!

Leave a Reply

