Well?

wordpress doesn’t have many good layouts, but I kinda like this one. It looks like it might be a bit resource intensive, so if there’s problems with it, let me know; i can always switch to something more easily loadable and readable.

11 comments on “Well?

  1. Caine says:

    I like it. Works fine for me, and my eyesight is not what you’d call good. :)

  2. Feynmaniac says:

    Hey, Jadehawk.

    I’m having no troubles. Also, nice blog you’ve got here. Great content!

  3. David Marjanović says:

    Perhaps a bit dark for reading during the day, but still nice :-)

    Not noticeably resource-intensive. The security stuff about commenting on Blogspot has made Blogspot slower than WordPress, I think.

    The one real disadvantage I’ve noticed is that the link to the comments is now right below the title, while the link to the comment window is still at the bottom, encouraging people to comment without having read the rest of the thread. But I think that’s something you have control over, because there are WordPress blogs like this one that have it the right way around.

  4. David Marjanović says:

    still nice :-)

    Also, perhaps more worthy of an artist than the somewhat Spartan Blogspot layout :-þ

  5. Paul says:

    Congrats on the new location! I second that it’s a little dark for daytime reading, but more than manageable. The visuals are definitely better than the Blogger one.

  6. Jadehawk says:

    like I just said in the other post, I can’t modify the stylesheet myself, unless I paid wordpress to do so; so the only thing I can do is switch templates, and they mostly suck (they seem to have a fetish for very narrow, fixed width main columns that make my long posts look like text-worms)

    also, all posts have a “comment” link at the bottom as well, so you can comment after reading a post as well :-)

  7. Paul says:

    Posting this here instead of the Functional thread since I don’t want to derail that one, because it’s relevant here, and because I know David will still read it :-).

    If you really can’t stand italicized blockquotes, you can make a user style sheet to overwrite that behavior. Instructions are here, or if you can’t muck around in the relevant directories you can use the Stylish Firefox addon to do much the same thing.

    I did the latter and added a single rule:

    blockquote{ font-style: normal !important; }

    You can make them site specific, too, if you want to really get into modding things. Of course, we’re on an artist’s turf now, and for all I know this sort of thing is like putting salt in the dish of a master chef. So mea culpa if that is the case :-)

  8. Jadehawk says:

    well, it’s not my template, so I can hardly take it personally if people don’t like parts of it and decide to override them :-p

  9. David Marjanović says:

    If you really can’t stand italicized blockquotes […]

    Wow. Thanks, but there really are bigger problems in the world! :o)

    Disadvantage of the sans-serif font: the :-þ and :-Þ smileys don’t seem to smile anymore. But I think I’ll get over that, too. :^)

  10. David Marjanović says:

    …and as it turns out, the “Comment” link below the post really does lead to the first comment, not to the comment window. <headdesk> Some scientist am I – the experiment suggests itself, and I make assumptions instead.

    :-)

  11. Kausik Datta says:

    As I mentioned in the other thread, this template is excellent. I don’t know about reading in the day time (it is now 1.15 AM EST here), but the output is pleasing to the eye. Plus it made an excellent background for Jadehawk’s BQ image… :)

Leave a Reply

