In which I out myself as a horrible conformist

boobquake: everybody on the internet is doing it!

24 comments on “In which I out myself as a horrible conformist

  1. David Marjanović says:

    What I can see of your face looks remarkably brutal. But perhaps that’s just the black hat and the shadow of your hand which is in exactly the right place for that…

  2. Jadehawk says:

    brutal?

    how to you interpret brutality into 2/3 of a jawline and lips?

  3. antonia says:

    Hotties for evolution…

  4. Walton says:

    Strange, I always imagined that you had blonde hair. I don’t know where I got that idea from. :-/

    (It’s strange how one tends instinctively to form mental images of the people one knows on the internet, often without any actual basis. Though my guesses are often not too far wrong, as regards other Pharyngulites who have posted pictures of themselves.)

  5. Jadehawk says:

    well, I guess my natural blondness is shining though in text (this is probably not good, if stereotypes are to be believed) :-p

    what you’re seeing is hairdye

  6. Bill Dauphin says:

    Walton:

    It’s strange how one tends instinctively to form mental images of the people one knows on the internet, often without any actual basis.

    I know. I never thought of Jadehawk as blonde, but somewhere along the way I’d gotten the idea she was significantly tattooed and/or pierced. Of course, this pic doesn’t definitively prove she isn’t… but I was picturing something that would be visible in a view like this.

    Jadehawk, how do you suppose I got that impression?

  7. Walton says:

    well, I guess my natural blondness is shining though in text (this is probably not good, if stereotypes are to be believed) :-p

    what you’re seeing is hairdye

    So you actually are naturally blonde? Evidently my intuitive guesses as to people’s appearance are more reliable than I thought.

  8. Jadehawk says:

    Jadehawk, how do you suppose I got that impression?

    probably because I love both and have talked about loving both; however, due to needing to be employable at various McJobs until very recently, I’ve avoided too visible mods.

    I’m toying with the thought of changing that finally, but I don’t know if I really feel the need anymore.

  9. kopd says:

    Walton,
    Interesting talent you have. Makes me wonder how people picture me.

  10. David Marjanović says:

    how to you interpret brutality into 2/3 of a jawline and lips?

    I think that part looks like… I better not say who. :-| (In case you’re seriously interested, drop me an e-mail, but I don’t think you want to know. You might just laugh… or not.) Well, I can’t wait to see the rest of your face in Copenhagen.

    well, I guess my natural blondness is shining though in text (this is probably not good, if stereotypes are to be believed) :-p

    Nope. While true blondness does come from within (and often manifests in yellow-died hair), you lack it. Walton is probably aware that many Poles are blond(e) externally.

    and have talked about loving both

    You’ve actually mentioned having a piercing somewhere in your mouth where it’s not visible when you talk, which was a prerequisite for being employed by Starbucks. I didn’t dare ask where that is… the frenulum of the upper lip maybe?

    I don’t know if I really feel the need anymore

    In case you’re interested in my opinion… I recommend against it. You seem to like modifying your appearance over and over, not only once.

    And a tattoo might get distorted by changes to your… circumference.

    Makes me wonder how people picture me.

    I don’t have enough of an impression of you to picture you at all. Comment more. :-)

  11. Rorschach says:

    Some guys need to learn when to shut up and just NOT say anything hahaha……
    I think that’s a very nice pic, well done !

  12. Ol'Greg says:

    Wow. All the cool kids hang out here. I love seeing people’s faces! Even 1/3 of them. Honestly Jadehawk you do look a bit as I expected, but that is only because my expectations were shaped by whatever things I think I recall you saying about yourself.

    Speaking of changes in circumference (nice man), that was why I was always afraid to get any tats. Well post contract, and then after that I realized I want ultimate creative control and I can’t get that easily so no tats for me. Plus I’d want to change them every day anyway.

    KOPD… I just noticed you have a blog. Hmmm….

  13. Kausik Datta says:

    I must admit it would have been nice to be able to put a face (rather than… Ahem!… boobs) to the famous Jadehawk moniker. But your BQ picture is very tastefully and adroitly done. Bravo! Your website design also rocks.

  14. David Marjanović says:

    your BQ picture is very tastefully and adroitly done.

    Seconded. I didn’t say that explicitly because I took it for granted :-þ

  15. Wowbagger says:

    Oh, this is where everyone is!

    Because of the name – despite numerous comments regarding being European – I always think of you as Asian and then have to remind myself that you aren’t.

    I did use to wonder what people thought I looked like but then PZ put up that pic of the group of us at the GAC so any mystery I might have had shrouding me – and I prefer as much as possible – went out the window.

  16. negentropyeater says:

    Nice pic !

    Placing my patented BoobquakeMeter in front of this picture yields a Boobquake Signal level of 112 dB ! One of the highest readings I’ve got so far :-)

  17. kopd says:

    Ol’Greg,
    Oh I don’t know if blog is the right word. That would imply that I update it regularly and remember it’s there. ;-)
    I hardly have a use for it anyway, as most of the time I would just be repeating what a regular has already said on Pharyngula. May as well let people read it at the source. I did find it pretty useful for venting, though.

  18. Walton says:

    Wowbagger,

    I did use to wonder what people thought I looked like but then PZ put up that pic of the group of us at the GAC so any mystery I might have had shrouding me – and I prefer as much as possible – went out the window.

    Interestingly, when he posted that picture, I was surprised that you, Bride of Shrek, and Kel all looked pretty much exactly how I imagined you. The only one who looked quite different from my mental image was Rorschach.

    I shouldn’t think there’s much mystery as to what I look like, since I’ve been quite candid online about my appearance (usually when I’m in one of my wallowing-in-self-pity moods).

  19. Pygmy Loris says:

    Damn! That’s a great pic. :)

  20. David Marjanović says:

    I shouldn’t think there’s much mystery as to what I look like, since I’ve been quite candid online about my appearance

    On Pharyngula you haven’t told us anything except “generally ugly” and the changing shapes of your moustache. That’s not enough to form a mental picture. :-)

  21. David Marjanović says:

    Hm. Under different lighting conditions (like a brighter screen), you look a lot like my sister, and not brutal… :o)

  22. Janine says:

    I have a friend who works at a Starbuck’s, she is older then I am (Don’t feel like revealing her age.) but she lacks a facial piercing. So one can get hired there without it.

    ‘raspberry’

    As for ink, I am the only person in my family who lacks any. It is not because of ‘inflation’ (Though in my case, it would be deflation and re inflation. sigh…) but because I am not sure if anything I put on my body would have the same meaning for me five, ten or twenty years later.

  23. Jadehawk says:

    I have a friend who works at a Starbuck’s, she is older then I am (Don’t feel like revealing her age.) but she lacks a facial piercing. So one can get hired there without it.

    lol, he meant the invisibility of it was a requirement.

  24. Lovely!

    And great blog!

Leave a Reply

